Porter, Batiste, Stoltz Featuring Page McConnell Release Moodoo Recorded Live at Vermont’s Club Metronome


George Porter Jr., Russell Batiste Jr., and Brian Stoltz are part of the rich history that is New Orleans’ musical ancestry. Today, Porter Batiste Stoltz announce the hard hitting trio’s first-ever live release MOODOO, featuring special guest keyboardist Page McConnell (Phish) sitting in on select songs.

The recording offers highlights from an epic November 2, 2007 gig at Burlington, Vermont’s Club Metronome, where McConnell joined PBS on stage for part of their performance. Documentation of the evening has been highly sought after by fan communities, yet there have been no known recordings of the show – until now.

MOODOO, which will be available at retail stores and online beginning September 30, documents an evening ripe with musical mojo. What else could happen when New Orleans’ funk royalty blends utterly with one of Vermont’s finest? Page McConnell and Russell Batiste have a musical history – playing together in Vida Blue, a band that Page formed in 2001. Most recently, Page also performed with PBS at the 2008 New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival on the Acura Stage (main).

In conjunction with the release of MOODOO , Porter Batiste Stoltz featuring Page McConnell will perform select shows this fall. Confirmed dates include:

September 24 Revolution Hall Troy, NY
September 25 Lupo’s Providence, RI
September 26 BB Kings New York, NY
September 27 Higher Ground Burlington, VT

Tickets are on sale now. Visit www.doyoumoodoo.com for more information.

MOODOO album details are as follows:
George Porter Jr. – bass guitar, vocals
Russell Batiste Jr. – drums, vocals
Brian Stoltz – guitar, vocals

Featuring special guest:
Page McConnell – keyboards

Recorded live at Club Metronome in Burlington, VT on Friday, November 2nd, 2007

Track Listing

1. Ausnacious (PBS original from ‘Expanding The Funkin’ Universe’)
2. Comin’ At Ya (PBS original from ‘Expanding The Funkin’ Universe’)
3. I Get High* (George Porter, Jr. original from ‘It’s Life’)
4. All We Wanna Do* (PBS original from ‘Expanding The Funkin’ Universe’)
5. Message From PBS* (Meters)
6. introductions
7. Check Out Your Mind* (Curtis Mayfield)
8. Funky Miracle > Sing A Simple Song > Rainy Day Women* (Meters/Sly Stone/Bob Dylan)
9. Out In The Country (Meters original, but this arrangement by George Porter, Jr. appears on his album, ‘It’s Life’)

* w/ Page McConnell