CD Review – Freekbass – grooveyard


Review by Scott Preston

grooveyard captures the experience of seeing a live Freekbass show in person. You can feel the excitement of the hometown Cincinnati crowd as Freekbass brings that special touch of nasty Cincy funk to the masses. What is very apparent is that Freekbass, Chip Wilson, and T-Sly bring 110 percent effort to each and every song. Recorded live at the 20th Century Theater in Cincinnati, OH, grooveyard is a mix of some older and newer Freekbass tunes that will surely keep your body moving to the sound of Cincinnati Funk.

Although I like the entire album, some of the highlights for me include “She’s Already There”, an old school Freekbass tune, but none the less one of my favorites and “Mission”. There is also brand new track “The Overdriven Sun” which is being included on the forthcoming Bootsy Collins cd “Bass Dominates: Bootsy’s Bass Heroes”. Most recently grooveyard appeared at #22 on Jambands Radio Charts as of 8/1/08.

Track #4 “Mission” can be heard on’s audio page.

Freekbass – grooveyard
Released June 2008
Recorded live 4.18.2008 at The 20th Century Theater in Cincinnati, OH by Mind Ignition

Track Listing:
1. She’s Already There
2. Milkhunt
3. Samething
4. Mission
5. Segue
6. Time
7. P-Leather
8. Up, Up, Up
9. (bonus track) The Overdriven Sun