Kris Kristofferson Reflects On Life And Love On His New Album Closer To The Bone

Kris Kristofferson
Kris Kristofferson

Grammy Award-winning music legend Kris Kristofferson opens his latest release with the title track “Closer To The Bone,” an intense, intimate song that seems to sum up the entire album. The record, Kristofferson’s second with New West Records, continues with 11 poignant tracks and will be released on September 29. The new record was produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Don Was (The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Bonnie Raitt) who also produced Kristofferson’s last CD, the critically acclaimed This Old Road. Closer To The Bone will be released as a standard CD, deluxe two-CD set as well as limited edition 180 gram vinyl.

Closer To The Bone features Kristofferson on vocals, guitar and harmonica, Don Was on bass, Rami Jaffee on keys, Jim Keltner on drums and longtime friend, the late Stephen Bruton, to whom the album is dedicated, on guitar, mandolin and backing vocals. All lyrics and music were written solely by Kristofferson except “From Here To Forever” which was written in collaboration with Stephen Bruton and Glen Clark.

On November 10, Kristofferson will be honored with the BMI Icon Award at the performing rights organization’s 57th annual Country Awards, the oldest awards saluting country’s top music makers. The Icon designation is given to BMI songwriters and artists who have had “a unique and indelible influence on generations of music makers.” Kristofferson, who will be saluted with an all-star musical tribute that evening, joins an elite list of past honorees that includes country music stalwarts Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard, Dolly Parton, Charlie Daniels, Loretta Lynn and last year’s honoree Hank Williams, Jr.

Closer To The Bone Track List:
1. Closer To The Bone
2. From Here To Forever
3. Holy Woman
4. Starlight And Stone
5. Sister Sinead
6. Hall Of Angels
7. Love Don’t Live Here Anymore
8. Good Morning John
9. Tell Me One More Time
10. Let The Walls Come Down
11. The Wonder