Cincinnati Entertainment Awards Nominations Announced


Photo by Scott Preston


The annual celebration of Greater Cincinnati’s rich music scene, the Cincinnati Entertainment Awards (CEAs), didn’t occur in its usual time slot this year (around Thanksgiving). To give us some space after CityBeat’s other big-time music event — September’s MidPoint Music Festival — the CEAs will now be held in January to honor the best local music-makers from the just-completed year. 

The 16th annual CEA ceremony will be held at Covington’s Madison Theater on Jan. 27, featuring more live performances than ever and first-time host Ted Clark, known for his monthly “live chat show” Ted Clark After Dark. Ted will present a special edition of Ted Clark After Dark at the after-party, this year held at The Loft, just around the corner from the Madison and above Tickets (the former home to the Rock club Radio Down). The after-party will also include the annual “Trashies,” presented by members of local Indie Pop legends The Fairmount Girls and honoring the best/worst/weirdest-dressed CEA attendees. 

Visit this Friday to begin voting for your favorites. (The Critical Achievement awards will again be determined by the CEA nominating committee, a collective of local music experts that includes club owners, promoters, radio hosts, writers and others.)

Another new aspect of this year’s CEAs involves the “New Artist of the Year” nominees. The acts nominated in that category will perform at the first-ever CEA new music showcase at Bogart’s on Jan. 18. Audience votes at the event will help determine the winner of the category. 

Tickets for both events will be available soon. Keep tabs on CEA happenings at the music blog at For now, use your favorite search engine and give the following nominees a listen so you can be prepared to vote this Friday. 

Rock: Buffalo Killers; Mad Anthony ; The KillTones; The Harlequins; Lemon Sky; Mangrenade 

Folk/Americana: The Tillers; Magnolia Mountain; Shiny and The Spoon; Young Heirlooms; Josh Eagle and the Harvest City; The Kentucky Struts

Electronic: You, You’re Awesome; Playfully Yours; Moonbow; Freekbot; Skeleton Hands; Skeetones 

World Music/Reggae: Orquesta Kandela; The Cliftones; The Pinstripes; Baoku Moses; Tropicoso; Junya Be 

Hard Rock: Valley of the Sun; The Mighty Swine; Chakras; Atlantis Becoming; Specyphi; Total Dudes

Country: Kelly Thomas; Jeremy Pinnell & The 55’s; Tex Schramm & The Radio King Cowboys; Mason James; Dallas Moore Band; Ryan Broshear

Alternative/Indie: Wussy; The Seedy Seeds; Automagik; Bad Veins; Why?; The Yugos

Bluegrass: Rumpke Mountain Boys; Comet Bluegrass All Stars; Ma Crow and the Lady Slippers; Hickory Robot; Rabbit Hash String Band; Rattlesnakin’ Daddies

Singer/Songwriter: Pete Dressman; Mark Utley; Zak Morgan; Josh Eagle; Jeremy Pinnell; Kelly Thomas

Punk: Switchblade Syndicate; The Dopamines; Swear Jar; Mixtapes; Horsecop; Martin Luther and the Kings 

Hip Hop: J Skillz; Those Guys; The Natives; Gold Shoes; Eclipse; Santino Corleon

Blues: Noah Wotherspoon Band; Ricky Nye; Leo Clarke Band; Natalie Wells; 46 Long; Grooveshire

Metal: Beneath Oblivion; Grey Host; Winterhymn; Scarangella; Pulse 8; Livid

R&B/Soul/Funk: The Cincy Brass; Los Honchos; Sassafraz; Jess Lamb; The Guitars; The MJ’S Blues 

Jazz: The Faux Frenchmen; Blue Wisp Big Band; Us, Today; William Menefield; John Zappa; Jamset

Best Live Act: Foxy Shazam; 500 Miles to Memphis; The Newbees; Why?; Walk the Moon; Automagik

New Artist Of the Year: Jeremy Pinnell and the 55’s; DAAP Girls; Ohio Knife; The Natives; R.Ring; Public; Heavy Hinges

Critical Achievement Awards

Album Of The Year: Bad Veins – The Mess We’ve Made; Buffalo Killers – Dig.Sow.Love.Grow; Culture Queer – Nightmare Band; The Happy Maladies – New Again; Hickory Robot – Sawyer; The Pinstripes – I; Rumpke Mountain Boys – Trashgrass; Wussy – Strawberry

Artist Of The Year: Alone at 3AM; Bad Veins; Foxy Shazam; The Pinstripes; Pomegranates; Walk the Moon; Why?; Wussy