Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra’s March line-up features returning favorites Josefowicz, Bronfman, Watts


The Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra presents its March concert line-up, packed with star power and some of the most passionate music in the orchestral repertoire. Highlights include the returns of guest artists Leila Josefowicz (LEE-la Jo-SEF-o-witz), performing Thomas Adès novel Violin Concerto, pianist Yefim Bronfman (YEH-fim BRAHNF-man), who demonstrates his admirable talents with Brahms’ Second Piano Concerto, and André Watts, who performs perhaps the most popular piano concerto ever written, Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto. Conductors Juanjo Mena (WAHN-ho MAY-nuh) and Mei-Ann Chen (MAY-Ann CHEN), both of whom won over musicians, audiences and critics alike during their debuts last season, also make their triumphant returns, while CSO Associate Conductor Robert Treviño makes his subscription debut on the Music Hall podium. Composer Jennifer Higdon, this season’s Boundless Series Creative Director, will be engaging in various residency activities the week of the CSO’s performance of her dynamic work, Concerto for Orchestra.

Each of these subscription weekends feature Classical Conversations with guest artists and CSO musicians. These casual, informative talks provide insights into the heart of the music, and are free to all ticketholders.

Tickets for all three programs start at just $10. Call the CSO Box Office at (513)381-3300 or visit to purchase tickets. These three subscription programs are in addition to several other non-subscription performances this month, including the Macy’s Arts Sampler concert on March 2, Classical Roots 2013 on March 15 and the Cincinnati Pops program featuring The Chieftains March 8-10. For more information on the full Orchestra schedule, please visit

March 1-2
Schubert: The Great
Juanjo Mena, conductor
Leila Josefowicz, violin
RAVEL Pavane pour une infante défunte (Pavane for a dead princess)
THOMAS ADÈS Violin Concerto, Concentric Paths
SCHUBERT Symphony No. 9,
The Great

March 14 & 16
Bronfman Plays Brahms
Robert Treviño, conductor
Yefim Bronfman, piano
BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 2
SCHUMANN Symphony No. 2

March 22-24
Watts Plays Beethoven Emperor
Mei-Ann Chen, conductor
André Watts, piano
ZHOU TIAN World Premiere Commission
JENNIFER HIGDON Concerto for Orchestra
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 5, Emperor