The Appleseed Collective Coming To The Crow’s Nest On March 28

0
114
The Appleseed Collective
The Appleseed Collective

The Appleseed Collective
March 28, 2014
The Crow’s Nest, 4544 W 8th St. Cincinnati, OH
10pm, Free

Mix the Hot Club of Paris with the sweaty soul of Dixieland, a couple blades of bluegrass, a pinch of ragtime beat, and a western swinging swagger and you’ve just conjured the sound of The Appleseed Collective. Over the past few years, the band has put the pedal to the metal touring the country in support of their 2012 release, Baby to Beast.

A showcase of the eclectic mix of writing styles, Beast feels youthful–voices calling out to you, the group blossoming around each piece. “The blends of swing, bluegrass, Dixieland ditties and alluring gypsy-folk whirls – is something close to a transcendent listen … you’re there, on some dirt road, being led on by these songs,” raves Jeff Milo of iSpy Magazine

Formed in 2010, The Appleseed Collective has become a force of nature driven by their local community and developed by a strong sense of do-it-yourself drive. In an age of corporations and climate change, the band’s commitment to buying & selling local, eating from gardens, and being their own bosses has led to the kind of success that feels simply organic.

Everybody brings something fresh to the table. Upon returning from a trip to New Orleans, guitarist Andrew Brown had a song in his heart that just wouldn’t quit–when a chance meeting introduced him to Brandon Smith, violinist and improvisation enthusiast, Andrew knew he’d found the Stephane Grapelli to his Django Reinhardt. Vince Russo, percussionist and van-packing expert, speaks freely and cleverly with each clack of the washboard or ding of the short-order cook’s bell. Katie Lee brings a vocal range that is a force to be reckoned with. It’s angelic one moment and powerhouse the next, all complemented by twinkling banjo melodies. And the addition of double bassist Ben Rolston to the mix delivers a level of musicality and jazz sophistication that sends hearts a-flutter.

Wednesday 2/26/14: The Loft, Colorado Springs, CO, 8 PM
Thursday 2/27/214: Cervantes Ballroom, Denver, CO, 8 PM
Friday 2/28/214: Bohemian Biergarten, Boulder, CO, 10 PM
Saturday 3/1/14: Park House, Denver, CO, 10 PM
Tuesday 3/4/14: Mountainsize Records, Evergreen, CO, 7 PM (This is a studio performance! You can watch it online!)
Wednesday 3/5/14: Twisted Pine Brewery, Boulder, CO, 6:30 PM
Thursday 3/6/14: Laughing Goat, Boulder, CO, 9 PM
Friday 3/7/14: Carbondale Beer Works, Carbondale, CO, 8:30 PM
Saturday 3/8/14: The Green Room, Flagstaff, AZ, 10:30 PM
Sunday 3/9/14: Flagstaff Brewing Company, Flagstaff, AZ, 2 PM
Monday 3/10/14: Trunk Space, Phoenix, AZ, 8 PM
Thursday 3/13/14: The Sea of Glass, Tucson, AZ, 7:30 PM
Friday 3/14/14: N4th Theater, Albuquerque, NM, 12:30 PM
Saturday 3/15/14: The 806, Amarillo, TX, 8 PM
Sunday 3/16/14: Opening Bell, Dallas, TX, 6 PM
Monday 3/17/14: Lola’s Saloon, Fort Worth, TX, 9 PM
Wednesday 3/19/14: Hi Ho Lounge, New Orleans, LA, 9 PM
Thursday 3/20/14: The Antieau Gallery, New Orleans, LA, 7 PM
Friday 3/21/14: The Antieau Gallery, New Orleans, LA, 7 PM
Saturday 3/22/14: The Three Muses, New Orleans, LA, 9 PM
Friday 3/28/14: The Crows Nest, Cincinnati, OH, 10 PM

We’ll be adding a few more dates the last week of tour, keep up to date with us at www.theappleseedcollective.com