Wussy To Perform NYE 2014 At The Woodward Theater


Photo by Sean Hugues

Wussy, the acclaimed Cincinnati rock group called “the best band in America” by critic Robert Christgau, makes its Woodward Theater debut for a very special New Year’s Eve performance. The Woodward is located at 1404 Main St., Cincinnati, Ohio in the historic neighborhood of Over-the-Rhine.

General admission tickets, $10 ADV/$15 DOS (plus applicable fees), are on sale now at http://www.cincyticket.com/eventperformances.asp?evt=2346 and at all CincyTicket outlets. All shows at the Woodward are age-restricted to 21-and-up unless otherwise noted.

Springing forth from the hinterlands of Cincinnati, OH are Wussy, an American five-piece fronted by songwriters Chuck Cleaver and Lisa Walker and backed by Mark Messerly, Joe Klug and John Erhardt. Bridging the gap between The Band and Sonic Youth, Wussy continue in the tradition of bands with multiple writers and singers. Cleaver and Walker offer radically different perspectives, both lyrically and vocally, that blend in seamless fashion – usually blanketed inside layers of noise. The band typically plays loud rock and roll heavily influenced by late 60′s pop and psychedelica, as well as seminal 70′s songwriters from John Cale to John Prine.

They formed in 2001 as a result of an impromptu performance, and even now are known among the press and their cult following for their spirited, off-the-cuff live shows. While more mainstream success remains elusive, Wussy are a true critics band – racking up multiple plaudits from Rolling Stone, NPR, BBC, New York Times, Spin, Washington Post, Magnet, The Guardian, Village Voice, Uncut and many more.

Wussy have toured the US and UK extensively, including several festival appearances (SXSW, Nelsonville, CMJ, Midpoint, Bunbury, Twangfest) and live sessions for BBC6 Radio, KEXP (Seattle), KDHX (St. Louis) and KUT (Austin). They also offered recent support for several tours including for fellow Ohioans Afghan Whigs and Heartless Bastards – as well as one-off shows with Yo La Tengo, The Breeders, Best Coast, Mudhoney, Shonen Knife, Okkervil River, The Mekons, COME, Wreckless Eric, and K Records founder Calvin Johnson.

Their fifth full-length is Attica! Out May 6 in the US on Shake It Records and May 5 in the UK on Damnably.

Recommended if you like… Yo La Tengo, Buffalo Springfield, Nancy and Lee, Jesus & Mary Chain, The Byrds, Unrest, Weakerthans, New Pornographers, Ass Ponys.

Band Members
Chuck Cleaver (guitar, vocals)
Lisa Walker (guitar, vocals)
Mark Messerly (bass)
Joe Klug (drums)
John Erhardt (pedal steel)

additionally….we all sing backup, play keyboards, vibes, the occasional extra guitar, etc, etc