The Magpie Salute Performing At Bogarts on 8/22 In Support Of Band’s Debut Album



The Magpie Salute
Bogarts, 2621 Vine St, Cincinnati, OH
7pm, Buy Tickets

THE MAGPIE SALUTE–the new 10-piece band that brings together Rich Robinson, Marc Ford and Sven Pipien of The Black Crowes with other dynamic musicians and co-ed singers from around the world—is gearing up for their national headlining tour in support of the band’s self-titled debut album and will be stopping locally in CINCINNATI on TUESDAY, AUGUST 22 to perform at BOGART’S. For more information and to purchase tickets, visit:

THE MAGPIE SALUTE partnered with THE INDEPENDENT (U.K.), ROLLING STONE (Germany) and OUI FM (France) to premiere the music video for “Omission,” the lead single off the brand new album (just released worldwide June 9 via Eagle Rock Entertainment). Click here to watch the striking video which was directed by Matthew Sterling and shot in London. Rich Robinson says: “The overall idea was based on the light and dark aspects of the human psyche and taking a reference from the Magpie which has elements of the light and dark.”

Driven by the magic of the reunited Robinson and Ford guitar team as celebrated with Guitar Player magazine’s June 2017 issue cover story, THE MAGPIE SALUTE are now impacting radio with “Omission,” the deeply soulful rock song–written by Robinson and lead vocalist John Hogg–which hailed as “explosive” (April 27, 2017). Elsewhere, raves, “The younger Robinson brother/ex Black Crowes man has struck gold with the Magpie Salute, and their proverbial star continues to grow with this bluesy rock ’n’ roll belter [‘Omission’]. Fuelled by rugged, hearty guitars, and stellar vocals from rock n’ soul wonderman John Hogg, it’s all good kinds of heavy” (May 5, 2017). Click here to listen to “Omission.”

Produced by Crowes guitarist and co-founder Robinson, the musically tight and expansive debut album was recorded live in the studio in front of an audience at Applehead Recording in Woodstock, NY, except for the full studio track “Omission.” The 10-song album carries special significance as it marks the last recorded work by Eddie Harsch, the late Black Crowes keyboardist whose signature sound and gentle soul are woven into THE MAGPIE SALUTE.

There is wide open musical freedom on the band’s debut album, with half of the songs coming in over seven minutes in length, and the musicians’ wide-ranging roots are reflected in the diverse selections. They offer fresh takes of The Black Crowes’ “What Is Home” and “Wiser Time,” and interpret songs by Delaney and Bonnie (“Comin’ Home”), Bobby Hutcherson (“Goin’ Down South”), War (“War Drums”), Pink Floyd (“Fearless”), the Faces (“Glad and Sorry”), Bob Marley (“Time Will Tell,” which The Black Crowes covered on their second album) and the traditional “Ain’t No More Cane.” Listen to the full album on Spotify HERE.

THE MAGPIE SALUTE features musicians who’ve played together for decades throughout various projects and share a truly deep musical bond. Joining Robinson, Ford and Pipien in the band are drummer Joe Magistro and guitarist Nico Bereciartua plus new keyboardist Michael Bellar. The group also boasts a fine cast of vocalists, including Robinson, Ford, lead singer John Hogg (Hookah Brown, Moke), former Crowes singer Charity White and background singers Adrien Reju and Katrine Ottosen. The band first surfaced this past January with four back-to-back sold-out shows at the Gramercy Theatre in New York. Then came the announcement of their debut in London, where the group performed fourenthusiastically received concerts at Under The Bridge (April 12-15), with the first show selling out shortly within an hour of the tickets going on pre-sale.