GUIDED BY VOICES Announce New Album “Styles We Paid For” Out 12/11


Pandemic be damned, Guided By Voices have recorded their 3rd (!) album of 2020. This tremendous pace has kept the band in the news constantly this year, including 5 features in Rolling Stone, this time announcing their upcoming album Styles We Paid For, due out December 11th. They also have shared the first single, “Mr. Child” via Rolling Stone.

“Mr. Child” is a poppy rocker about the titular character, a fun-loving Peter Pan who “sees a rainbow/sees no rain” — whose M.O. is to “roll with the punches and remain a child.” Still, there’s something ominous about the forever-boy, who is “long and limber,” “always rolling,” and “erasing numbers,” Rolling Stone writes.

Despite the global pandemic, Guided By Voices have remained as prolific as ever, finding ways to create despite distance — Styles We Paid For was recorded by the members in five different states and is out December 11th.

Styles We Paid For – Tracklisting
01 Megaphone Riley
02 They Don’t Play The Drums Anymore
03 Slaughterhouse
04 Endless Seafood
05 Mr Child
06 Stops
07 War of the Devils
08 Electronic Windows to Nowhere
09 Never Abandon Ship
10 Roll Me To Heaven
11 In Calculus Strategem
12 Crash at Lake Placebo
13 Liquid Kid
14 Time Without Looking
15 When Growing Was Simple